Deciphering machine learning

TechNotes by Abby
2 min readAug 15, 2021

--

Photo from unsplash.com by Andrea De Santis

So, what exactly is machine learning?

This might sound pretty basic for techies but a lot of people have managed to make the world think that this is only for the smartest people who can understand very difficult mathematics and write complex code. Well, I am here to tell you that it is not as hard as you might think and you too can learn.

But first things first. What is machine learning? It is as simple as a robot/ machine reading a book. The same way kids are taught to read.

Like everybody else, I struggled with my ABCs. Most kids still do. I struggled with my math and spelling. You name it. At some point i probably thought i was the dumbest person on the face of the earth who was incapable of understanding the alphabet.

But then again things got better. As i got older, I could spell. As i learnt and practiced my math and did my assignments I was able to solve more complex math. Now, I can even write code.

This is the same with machine learning.

We train machines what we want them to do. We train them to think like us. Actually, better than us. With precision and accuracy. So, we give them information. The same way you take in information by reading. We give them information and train them so they can learn to recognize the alphabet A and say that it is A correctly.

However, there is a lot involved in that process. That is where you need some coding skills, some mathematical understanding and as I said before, it is not that hard. You just need a bit of practice and consistency.

P/S: I will be creating some notebooks that are very easy and straightforward to understand for people with no machine learning knowledge. I will also be posting weekly blogs to decipher the different machine learning models and corresponding code.

# HappyLearning. #machinelearning

--

--

TechNotes by Abby

Student at Michigan State University; writing about all things tech!